top of page

10 Helpful Tips for Studying Abroad

1. Plan ahead and make a calendar of things to do

  • Although four months might seem like a lot of time to fit everything that you need to do, time goes by very fast when you're studying abroad. Making a list of things you want to do and plotting those plans on a calendar will guarantee you will use your time abroad to the fullest.

2. Prepare documents and make copies of them

  • A lot of important documents are needed during the whole process of getting into the country to study abroad. It is important that you make sure you not only have these documents, but two or three copies of them in case you need them for anything throughout the trip. I made photocopies of my visa and my passport as they are the most essential items needed for getting into and out of the country. Although certain documents can be accessed digitally, sometimes I would still print a physical copy of them just in case.

3. Get a credit card without foreign fees

  • Save money on your purchases abroad by using a credit card that doesn't charge foreign fees. There are certain cards or accounts you can make for that purpose.

4. Bring emergency cash

  • Although a lot of cards can be used to make purchases, sometimes you never know when you need to use cash to pay for things too. I converted some USD into won before entering Korea, which helped out a lot when I had to pay cash for my dorm fees. If somehow your card doesn't work, it is also helpful to carry cash around for this reason.

5. Pack fewer clothes, but more necessities such as medicine

  • This might be dependent on the place, but since I knew the clothes in Korea are cheaper and have a greater selection, I purposely didn't bring that many clothes because I knew I was going to buy more when I got there. This really helped me decrease space in my luggage and gave me more space to pack more important necessities.

6. Study over a span of time instead of waiting last minute

  • Balancing school while also having fun abroad can be very difficult if you don't manage your time properly. I found that studying for a span of time weeks before the midterm and final helped me prepare for it better while also being able to go places that I wanted to go to.

7, Utilize travel services with discounts for foreigners and English-speaking services

  • In Korea, I used Trazy a lot because they had services from buying SIM cards, reserving a private taxi, and booking day trips. Their services were super helpful as they were also all English speaking services that saved us the trouble from communication issues. They also provided discounts for certain tickets for foreigners.

8. Download important and helpful apps

  • Apps that help with navigation, ordering takeout, and communicating with others can be very helpful to use while studying abroad.

9. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes

  • Having to live independently in an unfamiliar country, you are bound to make mistakes and stumble upon many problems. It will happen a lot, but you can learn from them and adapt.

10. Make the most out of your experience

  • Studying abroad is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, so it's important that you should make the most out of it. Do as much as you can while abroad and make the most out of it.

bottom of page